Getting Started Using LOINC

Hello everyone and thanks for the help in advance. I am brand new to using LOINC and I am trying to anchor some basic concepts . I wanted to start off with a basic list of childhood symptoms that might be sued by a pediatrics office. I really don’t know how to get started. Any help would be appreciated.

1 Like

Not sure if I asked a terrible question or if this forum isn’t frequented much. If its a bad question, please let me know.

Hello Hugh! Perhaps you can mention more of your starting point. Are you asking the LOINC database to inspire and drive your collection of the list, or do you already have a list of observations gleaned from example pediatric visits?

1 Like

Hi Pam! Thanks for the response. My wife is a pediatrician, so we have a full database of various symptoms and diagnosis. We want to create lists of symptoms that patients may choose from prior to their visit. So obviously, we have the basics such a fever, sore throat, rash, etc. But my thinking was to utilize LOINC to more thoroughly map this data rather than just collect the term “fever” for example. So I am not even fully sure if I am approaching this correctly. Any insight would be appreciated.

Welcome to the LOINC Forum, Mr. McLaughlin.

Are you asking about practice in the US? If so, signs, symptoms, and problems as indicated by USDCI would be mapped to SNOMED CT, not LOINC.

Is your wife using an EHR? If so, it would be certified to provide this functionally per the 21st Century Cures Act. The EHR vendor should provide its customers with how this information is collected, mapped to standards (like SNOMED CT), etc.

Here’s a link to the SNOMED CT browser so you can search the codes for the terms: https://browser.ihtsdotools.org/? Here’s “fever” parent (finding) with 22 children types of fevers from which to choose to document as applicable.

2 Likes